ruenfrdeites

Information IKEA

Linguistic incidents and the names of IKEA

3.3333333333333 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.33 (3 Votes)

Unsuccessful name IKEAKazusnye moments, unfortunately, happens to all. And the world famous company IKEA is no exception. Periodically, the Company has a linguistic problem with some of its product name. To explain how this happens, first tell you about the origin of the names of IKEA. All names ikeevskogo range have their own history.

Here are some examples:

  1. upholstered furniture - the Swedish cities and villages.
  2. beds and wardrobes - Norwegian settlements.
  3. dining room furniture - Finnish settlements.
  4. garden furniture - Swedish island.
  5. objects bathroom - lakes, rivers, and bays Scandinavia.
  6. Light - Swedish terms of music, meteorology, maritime affairs, chemistry and mineralogy, as well as the Swedish names of the months, days of the week and time of year.
  7. curtains, drapes, bedspreads and other woven products - Swedish female names.
  8. carpets - Danish settlements.
  9. bedding and pillows - plants, flowers, and precious stones.
  10. chairs and desks - Swedish male names.
  11. cookware - intended subject. Or the name of the fruit, fish and berries.

Let us now return to the linguistic problems associated with these names. Among the consultants of Russian IKEA stores there is a kind of joke-legend about the product VINYA, supposedly a woman - "pigs" came to the Ikea store and the consultants helped "the woman with VINYA"! Was also such a funny situation, when the magazine Esquire conducted an online test called "Character from the movie" The Lord of the Rings "or the name of the goods Ikea"? Mentioned here are the names: the Haldor, the denead, the modal, the Brunkrisla, the Halbarad, the Gangult, the Emrik, the Grundtal, Deagol, Freden, Grimbold, Make-up, Glorfindel, Beregond, Molger. There are also hochmachki: Swalk, in the original record SVALKA - on this word the first hit in Google goes to Ikeya. WINGAL - pronounced, and in the original - FINGAL. But there are awkward situations.

Characterized by many names unreadable, and not the most successful transfer of meanings. It is with this and related unpleasant moments that have occurred with IKEA.

So, developing the name for a new pillow, the company's marketing specialists decided to halve the Swedish phrase "rapeseed seed", deciding that the Gosa Raps sounds easier and more accessible for perception. At the same time, they did not analyze what will be the translation into the most accessible language in the world - English. And "ran into" a clever british, who decided to translate out of curiosity a couple of names of goods from IKEA. I used the Google Translate service and eventually received an unexpected transfer of the pillow: instead of "grain" came cuddle rape ("hug rape"). So writes The Daily Mail. The buyer immediately expressed his dissatisfaction at one Ikeev forum.
There are still cases when the names of products were illogical. A hanger "Boomerang" or a gift pot "Gift" quite often causes laughter in visitors to Ikea stores in every corner of the world. The Skarblad pillowcase was named after the flower, in English it sounds like a "cut sheet", which is now not as romantic as originally wanted. Not quite appetizing happened with a scoop Gubbrora, the name of the Swedish traditional dish. Translating into English - "touch of the old man." It's sad, but it's true. IKEA linguistic incidents and Thai language have not passed: the Redalen bed means "in dangerous proximity", and in Thai it is very similar to the word "petting". A flower pot for flowers Jattebra, which ironically translated into Swedish "very good," but in Thailand by ear as a slang word that denotes sex.

After these incidents, the company IKEA hired translators to translate your product catalog into Thai.

In the future to avoid such mistakes, guide brand IKEA started work on the analysis of product names and eliminate unplanned obscene language in their names, in part renaming a number of products.

However, these "trouble" in no way affect the popularity of the brand and quality of products as well as our attitude toward the beloved brand. Who of us did not have to get into funny or awkward situations from which we blushed and tried to fix it. Life Lessons!


IKEA-CLUB_signature

  • 0

    Guest

    22.05.2013 21:47 | #
    Reply | Reply with quote | quote
    On special cases ..., plural suschestvitelnog of "village" - "villages". : Lol:
  • -1

    Dmitriy123

    12.01.2015 14:45 | #
    Reply | Reply with quote | quote
    Hands tear them behind such titles ... accountants understand .. written in receipt of any vintermis .. here and wonder what it is ...

Add a comment


More on the topic ...

We recommend ...

Russian English French German Italian Spanish

Информация об ИКЕА

Лингвистические казусы и названия товаров ИКЕА

3.3333333333333 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.33 (3 Votes)

Неудачные названия товаров ИКЕАКазусные моменты, к сожалению, случаются со всеми. И всемирно известная компания ИКЕА не исключение. Периодически у компании возникают лингвистические проблемы с некоторыми ее названиями товаров. Чтобы объяснить, как это происходит, сначала расскажем о происхождении названий товаров ИКЕА. Все названия икеевского ассортимента имеют свою историю.

Вот, некоторые примеры:

  1. мягкая мебель – шведские города и сёла.
  2. кровати и гардеробы – норвежские населённые пункты.
  3. мебель для столовой – финские населенные пункты.
  4. садовая мебель – шведские острова.
  5. предметы ванной комнаты – озера, реки, и морские заливы Скандинавии.
  6. светильники – шведские термины из музыки, метеорологии, морского дела, химии и минералогии, а также по шведским названиям месяцев, дней недели и времён года.
  7. гардины, портьеры, покрывала и другие тканые изделия – шведские женские имена.
  8. ковры – датские населённые пункты.
  9. постельное бельё и подушки – растения, цветы, и драгоценные камни.
  10. стулья и письменные столы – шведские мужские имена.
  11. кухонные принадлежности – по назначению предмета. Либо название фруктов, рыб, ягод.

Вернемся теперь к лингвистическим проблемам, связанным с этими названиями. Среди консультантов российских магазинов ИКЕА ходит своеобразная шутка-легенда о товаре ВИНЬЕ, якобы женщина – «pig» заходила в магазин Икеа и консультанты помогали «женщине с ВИНЬЕ»! Была и такая смешная ситуация, когда журнал Esquire проводил онлайн-тест под названием «Персонаж из фильма «Властелин колец» или название товара Икеа»? Упоминались вот какие названия: гальдор, денетор, смодаль, брункрисла, хальбарад, гангульт, эмрик, грундталь, деагол, фреден, гримбольд, грима, глорфиндел, берегонд, мольгер. Есть и такие хохмачки: СВАЛЬК, в оригинальной записи SVALKA — на это слово первый же хит в Google идет на Икею. ВИНГАЛ - произносится, а в оригинале — FINGAL. Но бывают и неловкие ситуации.

Многим названиям характерна нечитабельность, а также не самые удачные смыслы перевода. Именно с этим и связаны неприятные моменты, которые произошли с компанией ИКЕА.

Так вот, разрабатывая имя для новой подушки, маркетологи компании решили сократить вдвое шведское словосочетание «рапсовое семя» , решив, что Gosa Raps звучит проще и доступнее для восприятия. При этом не проанализировали, каким будет перевод на самый доступный язык в мире – английский. И "напоролись" на смышленого британца, который решил перевести из любопытства парочку названий товаров от ИКЕА. Воспользовался сервисом Google Translate и в итоге получил неожиданный перевод подушки: вместо «зёрнышка» вышло cuddle rape («обнимать изнасилование»). Так пишет The Daily Mail. Покупатель сразу выразил свое недовольство на одном икеевском форуме.
Известны еще случаи, когда названия продуктов оказались нелогичными. Вешалка "Бумеранг" или кашпо "Подарок" довольно часто вызывают смех у посетителей магазинов Икеа в каждом уголке мира. Наволочка Skarblad была названа в честь цветка, на английском звучит как "отрезанный лист", что теперь не так романтично, как первоначально хотелось. Не совсем аппетитно получилось с лопаткой Gubbrora, название шведского традиционного блюда. Переведя на английский - "прикосновение старого человека". Печально, но это так. Не миновали лингвистические казусы ИКЕА и тайский язык: кровать Redalen означает "в опасной близости", а на тайском языке очень похоже на слово "петтинг". А кашпо для цветов Jattebra, который по иронии судьбы на шведский переводится "очень хорошо", зато в Таиланде на слух как сленговое словечко, которое обозначает секс.

После этих инцидентов компания IKEA наняла переводчиков для перевода свой каталога товаров на тайский язык.

Чтобы в будущем не допускать подобных ошибок, руководство торговой марки ИКЕА начала работу над анализом названий товаров и устранения незапланированных непристойных выражений в их названиях, частично переименовав ряд товаров.

Однако эти "неприятности" никаким образом не влияет на популярность бренда и качество товаров, а также на наше отношение к любимой торговой марке. Кому из нас не приходилось попадать в смешные либо неловкие ситуации, от которых мы краснели и старались все исправить. Уроки жизни!


IKEA-CLUB_signature

Добавить комментарий


Защитный код
Обновить

Еще по теме...

Рекомендуем...